Contact the GSG Officers and Representatives

The GSG is composed of an Executive Council and a General Council. The Executive Council is elected in the Spring of each year, according to our bylaws, and is comprised of nine positions: President, Vice President, Director of Finance, Director of Communications,  Director of Academic Affairs, Director of Engagement, Director of Equity & Outreach, Director of International Student Affairs, and Director of Media and Marketing. General Council members are elected from within each degree-granting department or college, during the first colloquium meeting of the year; Department Heads may also appoint a Department Representative if needed.

2022-2023 Executive Officers

President: Liam Witteman

Vice President: Joseph Briggs

Treasurer: Joshua Worley

Director of Communications: Yifei (Rena) Zhu

Director of Academic Affairs: Maria Isabella Francesca Mendoza

Director of Engagement: Megan Shepherd

Director of Equity & Outreach: Keerthana Krishnan

Director of International Student Affairs: Adrian Mendonsa

Director of Media & Marketing: Maddie Macmillan

Board of Trustees Representative: Hayden Cooreman


The departments/programs listed below have failed to provide a GSG representative despite repeated warnings from GSG. Per GSG bylaws, all graduate students in these departments/programs are ineligible to receive GSG grant funds, social funds, and financial assistance:

Advanced Manufacturing

Space Resources

Tre2021-2022 General Council


Department Representative
Advanced Energy Systems Nicolas Pesci
Advanced Manufacturing LOST
Applied Mathematics and Statistics Maggie Bailey
Chemical and Biological Engineering Sara Russo
Chemistry and Geochemistry Genevieve Stelmacovich
Civil and Environmental Engineering Abigail Heath/Aron Griffin
Computer Science Jonathan Diller
Economics and Business Karen Lopez
Electrical Engineering Trevor Long
Geology and Geological Engineering Lauren Miller
Geophysics Jared Low
Hydrologic Science and Engineering Sara Warix
Materials Science Wallis Scholl/Jair Fernando Fajardo Rojas/Allison Perna
Mechanical Engineering Corey Randall
Metallurgical and Materials Engineering James Frishkoff
Mining Engineering Fatih Aranoglu
Natural Resources & Energy Policy Tinzar Htun/Conner O’Reilly
Nuclear Science  Jaden Zymbaluk
Operations Research with Engineering John Ayaburi
Petroleum Engineering Gizem Hazal
Physics Claudia Schrama/Paul Niyonkuru
Quantitative Biosciences and Engineering Tyler Sodia
Space Resources LOST
Underground Construction and Tunneling Daniel McManus

Department Representatives: Submit funding requests for your department by emailing the GSG treasurer at

2021-2022 Committee Reps

External Committees

GSG Reps

Calendar Committee  Josh Worley
Campus Culture & Mental Health (2) Jaden Zymabluk and Mark Childers
CSMAA BOD Maxwell Silver
Faculty Senate Maxwell Silver
Faculty Senate Library Committee James Frishkoff
Financial Hardship and Leniency Noah Sandoval
Grad Student Housing Moira Miller, Megan Shepherd, and Rena Zhu
Graduate Council Maxwell Silver
Graduate Orientation

Maxwell Silver

Intermodal Transit Fee  (2) Josh Worley and Adrian Mendonsa
Mines DI&A Monthly Council  Maxwell Silver
Parking Advisory Committee Jaden Zymabluk
Research Council James Frishkoff
Smoking Policy Committee Fatih Aranoglu
Student Conduct Appeals (3) Tyler Sodia, Megan Shepherd, Amanda Bellafatto
Sustainability Committee Lauren Miller
Technology Fee (2) Tyler Sodia, Maddie Macmillan
Internal Committees

GSG Reps

DEI (4) Adrian Mendonsa, John Ayaburi, Josh Worley, and Wyatt Lindsey Leiaka Welcome
Future Faculty Program (5) Alison Biery, Kagan Kutun, Jillian Collins, Jesus Mendoza, and Nicholas Pesci Joseph Briggs
GEM (3) Brett Bernstein and Corey Randall Rena Zhu
Gold Mine/Grant (4) Fatih Aranoglu, Amanda Bellafatto, John Ayaburi, and Keerthana Krishnan Liam Witteman
Grad Student Life Moira Miller and Maggie Bailey Isabella Mendoza and Dr. Jennifer Briggs
GRADS (8) Megan Shepherd, Moira Miller, James Frishkoff, Sara Warix, Brett Bernstein, Wyatt Lindsey, and Joseph Briggs Isabella Mendoza
ISO Committee (4) Tyler Sodia, Genevieve Stelmacovich, Liam Witteman, and Megan Shepherd Adrian Mendonsa
Social Committee (3) Josh Worley, Mark Childers, Rena Zhu, and Maggie Bailey Joseph Briggs
Unionization Research (5) Lauren Miller, Moira Miller, Genevieve Stelmacovich, Maggie Bailey, and Mark Childers Nicholas Pesci